Change is the Only Constant

The Number 8

YinYang’s binary quality generates the 8 trigrams of the Bagua found in the Yi Jing (Book of Change). The trigrams are formed by stacking either a Yin (symbolized by a broken line) or a Yang line (an unbroken line). When the 8 possible variants have been formed they are placed in a circle, symbolizing the 8 directions or the 8 universal principles of nature.

8 Winds are mentioned in Chinese philosophy. They symbolise all of he possible variants of Qi. Wind is an interesting image for Qi in that we
observe wind’s effect on the world when
moving but it is also wind when still.
It is not only form but potential too.
It is present in what we see and what we do not.